The best days of my life

The days from June 8 to June 20, 2014 were hands down the best days of my life.

I want to thank all 25 of my fellow #SJI14 participants and all four of my fabulous counselors. Alex, Yahaira, Mitch, and Mike are some of the best people I know. I’m glad that I got to spend two weeks getting to know them, and getting to learn what college will be like from them.

I made friends there that I think I will know for a very long time. Gabby, Hayley, Allyson, and Olivia are absolutely incredible people. They are all so talented and taught me so many things about journalism. Getting to know them was invaluable.

Wednesday night, the whole crew went to a Diamondbacks game, during which we all appeared on the jumbo tron three times. That was an absolutely incredible experience, something that will probably never happen to me again. Before the game even started, we were all allowed to see the press and broadcast areas that go into producing a sports broadcast. That whole day was absolutely amazing. That night we also filmed our music videos, four of which can be seen on our website.

Thursday we all had a blast. We went on studio tours to ABC15 and Arizona’s own Channel 3. I got to meet my favorite anchors, Katie Raml and Steve Irvin. They even followed me back on Twitter! It was like a dream come true, and I was fangirling almost the entire time. Then later, we had a few late night escapades, which included tons o’ fun with our amazing counselors.

I did things in those two weeks that I never ever thought I would have the chance or guts to do! It was like we were all actually in college, living the whole experience, and finding ourselves. I was able to create my own website, this blog, as well as contribute to a groups website. We all created radio broadcasts that went out live across the Downtown Phoenix campus. That was a little nerve wracking, but amazing just the same.

The last day was yesterday, and it was a very emotional day for all of us. None of us could believe that our experience here was actually over. Alex, one of our counselors, started crying when she got up on the stage to say goodbye to all of us, and that made me pretty much lose it right there in my seat. Checking out of the dorms was the final nail in my metaphorical coffin.  I had to say goodbye to the most amazing people I’ve met, and the people who I have the most in common with. Most of my friends don’t understand my passion for writing, and reading and watching, reading, listening to what is going on in the world. It was amazing getting to know people who love the same things I do.

Not only that, but I appreciate getting to know how to use all the tools of the trade. All the Adobe Suite products, Premiere, Photoshop. It was all absolutely amazing, and now I have the skills that employers will want me to have in the future.

When I get back to Red Mountain, I am going to try and completely change how our publication class is run. I am going to move Roar Magazine online! I am so excited for my senior year, more so than I ever have been. I’ll keep you all updated!

Follow me on Twitter, and all the wonderful blogs I’ve provided links for! Also, follow @Cronkite_ASU and experience the cutting edge of journalism education! Also, follow our group blog, Devils Dish! GO SUN DEVILS!

Much Love,

Nicole

 

 

4 Comments

Leave a Reply

