#8 // Menswear // The 1975

Alright, so this song is absolutely wonderful. I actually think I should have placed it higher on my countdown, but I just don’t know how much I can say about it.

This song doesn’t really have many words, and maybe that’s why I think it’s so beautiful. Songs today are crammed with as many words as possible, rap is more popular now than ever, I think.

More does not mean better. Cramming so many words in a song that prevents no one can understand what they are listening to, should be a crime. In the case of this song, the fewer words the better. What I really love focusing on when listening to it is the music. All of it is a mixture of electronic sounds and instruments.

It’s extremely hard for me to describe the instruments, since I’m more of a singer myself. You’ll just have to listen to it for yourself.

While I doย thinkย  believe that the most important aspect of this song is the instrumental/electronic mixture, I think the words are equally beautiful, while not being essential to the song.

The lyrics tell a story. It’s a story of disillusionment.

“Well I only brought 3, what you lookin’ at me for?”
She’s dressed in white and putting off crying.

“Well you’re the best man, so what’s the plan?
Why don’t you talk to Matty about it?”

I said, “I only brought 3 like I told you before,
We’re gonna have to ask about.”

It’s a song about a guy who is the best man at his friend’s wedding and he is in love with the bride, but seeing as she is getting married, has to hide his feelings forever.

Free bar, that’s the point.
Spilling Amaretto ’cause of previous joints.
I’m sitting with a girl, fortunate placing.
Preceding railing racket off a porcelain basin.
Who’s he? Giving it the lips?
I’ve never seen him knockin’ about.
He looks just like me, but 6 foot 3,
So I reckon you could knock him out.

Eventually, he finds himself spilling the beans that the bride and he had a relationship. He ends up in a location he doesn’t recognize, kissing a girl he doesn’t know. He has just possibly ruined a new marriage, and is now wandering around town, drunk and ready to pass out.

“Well, I think I’ll say a couple of words if you don’t mind…
I never really got on with your bird the first time
I met her out, dressed in nowt, telling everybody you were shagging about.”Well, who’s this? Going for the kiss,
I’m probably gonna yosh in your mouth.
Because it’s 5 past 3, I can hardly see and I’m on the verge of passing out.

Within a minute and a half of the almost four minute song, this classic love triangle of a story is told, in the form of not only poetry, but also set to the sounds of music. And it’s not even just music that it’s set to, it brings in the electronic genre as well as classical instruments. Sorry. I’m kind of fangirling right now. I mean, it’s the 1975.

Anyway.

I love this song, you all really need to listen to it. The beauty of music is something I need to share with the world, and I greatly appreciate all of you who take the time to read these.

Stay tuned for #7 tomorrow.

Much Love,

Nicole

Leave a Reply

