#5 // Why’d You Only Call Me When You’re High? // Arctic Monkeys

Alright, I know the title of this song is extremely long. I know it’s the longest song title I’ve ever seen. Please don’t let that deter you from reading what I have to say about the song.

I first discovered this band with their single “Do I Wanna Know” in the summer of 2013. The Arctic Monkeysย aren’t like any kind of band I’ve heard before. Parts of their sound remind me of another band I found around the same time called Alt-J, who are about to release a new album “This is All Yours,” out in September. Both bands are classified as alternative and have a lead singer with a rugged voice.

This song hasย a lotย of lyrics, and they don’t repeat over and over, which makes the song intriguing to listen to and also means that the listener has to pay particular care to listen to them all, or else you will miss the story.

Now, onto my version of what an “analysis” of a song looks like. We’ll start with the beginning of the song, because once that is out of the way, it’s easier to understand the end of the song, the same concept as a book or a movie.

The mirror’s image
Tells me it’s home time
But I’m not finished
‘Cause you’re not by my side
And as I arrived I thought I saw you leaving
Carrying your shoes
Decided that once again I was just dreaming
Of bumping into you

So, I’m just going to go at this line by line. 1) He’s looking at himself in the mirror and 2) realizes that it’s time for him to call it a night after seeing his appearance, yet 3) & 4), he doesn’t have his ex-girlfriend or crush by his side and he is not okay with that, being in the condition he is in. The next four lines are about him thinking that he saw her leaving the place he was in and he decides he has to be dreaming. He isn’t that far off because based on the title of the song, we can deduce that he is high at this point.

Now it’s three in the morning and I’m trying to change your mind
Left you multiple missed calls and to my message you reply,
“Why’d you only call me when you’re high?
Hi, why’d you only call me when you’re high?”

Well, for the most part I think these lyrics speak for themselves. It’s late, he’s high, the girl he keeps “phoning” is not amused in the least. I would go so far as to say that she’s fed up with his antics.

Somewhere darker
Talking the same shite
I need a partner
Well, are you out tonight?
It’s harder and harder to get you to listen
More I get through the gears
Incapable of making alright decisions
And having bad ideas

Wandering the streets, lost and alone, and very, very high off of something. Basically, the whole song is about him trying to get his girlfriend to listen to him even though they are no longer together. They probably haven’t been together for a very long time.

Somewhere darker
Talking the same shite
I need a partner
Well, are you out tonight?
It’s harder and harder to get you to listen
More I get through the gears
Incapable of making alright decisions
And having bad ideas

Moral of the story here, try your hardest not to call an ex while you’re high, roaming the streets. It’s not going to get you anywhere. I’d also like to include the ever popular, “Hugs not drugs.”

Stay tuned for #4 on my Top 10 Songs of the Summer Countdown!

Much Love,

Nicole

 

 

Leave a Reply

