#3 // Fancy // Iggy Azalea ft. Charli XCX

Let me just start out by saying that this song is so utterly mainstream. Not only is it sung as a rap, for the most part, and has someone who also contributes to the lyrics, it also has women strutting around in short skirts, talking about being in the “fast lane,” and “getting drunk on the mini bar.”

Despite these flaws in pop culture, I have to admit that even I, someone who absolutely adores alternative music, likes this song and knows that it will be caught in almost everyone’s heads this summer.

I also appreciate that Azalea tried to make the video a tribute to one of my favorite 90s movies, “Clueless” starring Alicia Silverstone and the ever gorgeous Paul Rudd. I especially loved that they stayed true to the outfits in the movie, and some of the most memorable scenes. If you haven’t seen the movie, you really should.

First thing’s first, I’m the realest (realest)
Drop this and let the whole world feel it (let them feel it)
And I’m still in the Murda Bizness
I could hold you down, like I’m givin’ lessons in physics (right, right)
You should want a bad bitch like this (huh?)
Drop it low and pick it up just like this (yeah)
Cup of Ace, cup of Goose, cup of Cris
High heels, somethin’ worth a half a ticket on my wrist (on my wrist)
Takin’ all the liquor straight, never chase that (never)
Rooftop like we bringin’ ’88 back (what?)
Bring the hooks in, where the bass at?
Champagne spillin’, you should taste that

With this first verse, sung by Azalea, you can pick up on almost the entire depth or meaning of the song. Basically, she’s in the mafia or something like that and she is very rich. She likes to part, and she fancies herself a badass.

The song bleeds sex appeal, from the lyrics,

Still stuntin’, how you love that?
Got the whole world asking how I does that
Hot girl, hands off, don’t touch that
Look at it I bet you wishing you could clutch that
It’s just the way you like it, huh?
You so good, he’s just wishing he could bite it, huh?
Never turn down money,
Slaying these hoes, gold trigger on the gun like

to the short skirts in the music video, straight to Azalea’s voice itself. All her words, even though spoken at an above average speed, sound somewhat drawn out and especially round, and deep, which is something I’ve come to understand that the “macho” sex enjoys.

That’s probably why so many people already like the song so much, and probably why I was drawn to it as well. I’m not a person who cuts loose or does anything remotely associated with anything Azalea sings about in the song. It just sounds fun, and it’s a release for those of us who strive to be seen as the respectful members of society. Just saying. That’s why I love this song.

Why do you? Comment below!

Stay tuned for #2 on my Top 10 Songs of the Summer Countdown! We’re so close to #1!

Much Love,

Nicole

Leave a Reply

