#2 // Ain’t It Fun // Paramore

This song is my favorite of the summer, and my approaching senior year in high school, but I can’t put it at number one.

My reasoning behind this might not make much sense to anyone besides myself, however, I’ll tell you all anyway.

I like alternative music. Paramore is technically alternative, but they are too popular for my particular taste. They are already popular on radio stations around the country. It is because of this, that I can’t put them at number one on my own countdown. I just want to be different, and a little bit difficult.

There are so many things I love about this song. I especially love the video, because it’s nonsensical, it’s different and so much fun to watch. If I was in the band, I would have loved setting all those different world records that are so random and specific.

I especially love the lyrics of the song. I will be able to apply most of the lyrics to my senior year of high school and even beyond. It’s all so inspiring to me. The song is about going into the real world after high school actually. It’s about making it on your own, or not making it, and taking responsibility for yourself without help from your family.

Don’t go crying to your mama ’cause you’re on your own in the real world
Don’t go crying to your mama ’cause you’re on your own in the real world
Don’t go crying to your mama ’cause you’re on your own in the real world
Don’t go crying to your mama ’cause you’re on your own in the real world

For me, this song is kind of a kick in the pants. It’s inspired me to get out there and do things on my own and to stop being afraid of new experiences.

Ain’t it fun living in the real world
Ain’t it good being all alone

Where you’re from
You might be the one who’s running things
Well, you can ring anybody’s bell to get what you want

You see, it’s easy to ignore a trouble
When you’re living in a bubble

When I was growing up, not to say that I’ve finished- because I’m not, I was pretty sheltered. I didn’t know much about anything going on in the outside world, and I didn’t realize it was possible for things not to go my way. Until hearing this song, I was extremely frustrated by this fact.

I don’t mind letting you down easy
But just give it time
If it don’t hurt now then just wait, just wait a while

You’re not the big fish in the pond no more
You are what they’re feeding on

So what are you gonna do when the world don’t orbit around you?
So what are you gonna do when the world don’t orbit around you?

I’m still kind of struggling with the fact that life isn’t easy for me, especially now that I have to get my own job. I have to work my way through the world, starting now.

I have to, everyone has to, or else none of us will make it out there. And more recently, I’ve been terrified that that will be my fate. I’m afraid I won’t make it.

This song is perfect for people going into college, graduating high school, people staking it out on their own. This summer is perfect for the class of 2015. We can no longer live in our bubbles, because they’ve popped, and we’ve entered the real world.

Stay tuned for my final post, #1, in my Top 10 Songs of the Summer Countdown! It’s only here, on raised by the internet!

Much Love,

Nicole

 

Leave a Reply

