#1 // Cool Kids // Echosmith

WARNING:

I’m probably going to have a really hard time containing my excitement that we are finally here, at #1 on my Top 10 Songs of the Summer Countdown!

Also, I am so excited to share this song with you all because it has a sentimental meaning for me, and I hope it does for all of you as well.

Ok. So.

Once Upon a Time, I was sifting through the brand new iTunes Radio and stumbled upon the Indie Pop radio station. Fancying myself a newly dedicated hipster, I decided immediately to check it out. A few songs in I wasn’t so sure that this would be the kind of persona I wanted people to see me as. Then, it happened.

I heard “Cool Kids,” by Echosmith.

I immediately fell in love with Sydney‘s vocals and Noah, Graham and Jamie‘s instrumental and backup vocalist talent. So, I went and scoured the internet (more like a quick Google search) and finally found their video. This video, let me tell you, is one of my most favorite of all time. I love Sydney’s style, actually all of the band members’ styles, and the overall message that they were able to craft with moving pictures set to lyrical poems.

Everyone, old, young, girl, boy, can relate to this song at some point or another in their lives. I especially know that from the girl’s aspect of things, being one of the cool kids has always been a dream, and I think I’ve always been at the cusp of something great, something that makes me part of a group that means I’m not alone. I like that the lyrics address both genders. They know that it’s not just a one sided issue in teens, or even adults.

She sees them walking in a straight line, that’s not really her style.
And they all got the same heartbeat, but hers is falling behind.
Nothing in this world could ever bring them down.
Yeah, they’re invincible, and she’s just in the background.

And she says,

“I wish that I could be like the cool kids,
‘Cause all the cool kids, they seem to fit in.
I wish that I could be like the cool kids, like the cool kids.”

He sees them talking with a big smile, but they haven’t got a clue.
Yeah, they’re living the good life, can’t see what he is going through.
They’re driving fast cars, but they don’t know where they’re going.
In the fast lane, living life without knowing.

This is THE top song of the summer because as we all think about going back to school, about the friends we can’t wait to see, about the people we want to be, it’s a good reminder that the coolest group you can belong to is the group that keeps you true to yourself, and the type of person you want to be. No one should have to conform to some idea of what a “cool kid” really is. Personally, I think everyone is pretty cool. It’s something I’ve had to accept for myself since starting high school. I’m glad that for my senior year, I can focus on being me.

And that’s just how it is.

Thank you ALL OF YOU for staying with me throughout the last ten days! I don’t think you all know how much that means to me! And thank you to infinity and beyond for the tons of support I’ve gotten from not only family, but friends and complete strangers as well! Keep coming back for more! I’ve got lots planned for this blog, raised by the internet. Stay tuned.

Much Love,

Nicole

 

 

Leave a Reply

