The Drag of Dresscodes

I just paid a fruitless visit to my high school, a 15 minute drive, and I was thinking about what I was wearing and going back to school.

I had on a racerback tank and some short shorts and I was thinking about the fact that there was no way I could wear that outfit once school starts.

And that just really bummed me out.

I know most high school students hate having a dresscode and mostly, I think that’s because they have issues with authority, especially at an age where they know they are becoming adults, but can’t really act like one.

I, like many of my peers, am against dresscodes, but for a different reason. Dresscodes restrict a persons personality, this we know. It also restricts our freedom of expression.

I loathe dresscodes because I think that if people want to wear short shorts, or dark and elaborate eye makeup, they should be able to do so. Teachers say that short clothing prevents people from paying attention to their studies. But if that’s the case, then it’s the students fault that they can’t keep their heads focused on education rather than their pants.

But that’s just me. What do you all think?

Follow me on Vine and see my latest video… about dresscodes!

Much Love,

Nicole

Leave a Reply

