My Brief Encounter with… Echosmith

Cool Kids and Talking Dreams: an afternoon with the band of the summer, if not the band of the year.
photo

I know I already totally obsessed over this band during my Top 10 Songs of the Summer Countdown, but today I had a totally amazing experience where I actually got to meet each member of the band and see them perform, LIVE in front of me!

It was all so unreal. I mean, first of all, I’ve only ever been to one concert -Lorde- and I didn’t get to meet her. At that concert, all I got to do was sit there and watch her work her vocal magic way down below me -I was in the SECOND balcony. At the Lorde concert, I had to pay for my ticket, and at the Echosmith concert -held inside a mall in Tempe- I didn’t have to pay for anything except a CD for all the band members to sign.

I don’t want to say that the Echosmith concert was better than the Lorde concert because I don’t think that would be true, purely because I LOVE Lorde to death. I think I have more in common with Lorde than I do with the members of Echosmith, but I do think that maybe, I got a little bit of a better experience seeing Echosmith from a posterity standpoint.

Not only did I get my PICTURE taken with them all, I also got all their signatures next to their picture in their album. That’s something I’ll be able to have for a very long time, and will help my aging mind remember that one time I went to a concert in a mall.

I didn’t get a picture with Lorde at her concert. I’m just saying.

My hands down favorite song off this album is Come Together, with Cool Kids in a close second. While Cool Kids is extremely catchy, it kind of has a somber tone to it. Come Together just sounds happy, and that’s what I want to be this year. Happy.

One of the best parts of this experience was going with someone I consider one of my absolute best friends. I’ve known her since the sixth grade when we met in a P.E. class at “the Academy,” you all know her as ALEC MILLER, VLOGGER EXTRAORDINAIRE. She loves music so much. It honestly doesn’t matter what kind it is, as long as it has a good message. Seriously, she went from singing Problem by Ariana Grande one minute to Cool Kids the next. Her taste in music is so diverse! I love it, and I love her.

Ok, onto my personal feelings about the concert, or more specifically my personal feelings about one of the band members… 🙂

I just have to say that Jamie Sierota is the most attractive male I’ve had the pleasure of having myself photographed with. He plays guitar for the band AND sings back-up (hot), AND is the oldest sibling -naturally. I don’t understand what it is about me that likes the oldest one in a band. It’s been that way forever. But anyway, we made eye contact a few times during the concert, and even after I had my photo taken with them, I swear he was looking over at me while I waited for Alec.

After “stalking” his Twitter, I saw that as of this Valentine’s Day, he had a girlfriend and I am sincerely praying that is not still true. Simply for my gain.

Simply put, today was amazing.

Much Love,

Nicole

Leave a Reply

