There’s No Stopping the Future 

I’m going to be living in downtown Phoenix 47 days from now. 

I’m going to be permanently living away from my parents and stepping into life as an adult. 

If that’s not an absolutely terrifying thought, I don’t know what is. 

I can’t believe I’ve gotten this far in my life. I know this is going to sound weird, but when I was younger, I was never able to picture myself going to college and actually being an adult. I thought maybe 16 was where I would just stop aging or I would die or something. Everything I’ve been doing since then has been totally unscripted. I’ve just been going with the flow. 

I know that sounds absolutely ridiculous and nïeve, but hey, that’s Nicole in her early teens for ya. 

So I’m going to be in college; which means: 

  1. I’m living 144 miles from my best friend. 
  2. I’m paying out the wazoo for my education. 
  3. I have to share a room with someone. 

I’m actually really excited about the third point because it’ll be an interesting and eye-opening experience, probably, right? 

The first point, I’m dreading. It’s only two hours away, but I don’t have a car, and I haven’t been that far away from my best friend since I was in third grade and moved to Minnesota for seven months. It’s a little hard to remember exactly how that felt and how I dealt with it. 

I’m going to miss her so much, but I know she’ll be having a great time at NAU. She’s going with so many of her friends, it’s actually not fair that she has that big of a support system. I’m really jealous. 

The second point kind of explains itself. That point is not going to be pleasant, but I know in the end, it’ll be worth it. 

I have 47 days before I move into Taylor Place at 6:00 a.m. 

I have 47 days left with my best friend. 

I have 47 days left to make as much money as possible. 

I have 47 days left in my childhood bedroom. 

I have 47 days. 

There’s just no stopping the future. 

Much Love, 

Nicole 

2 thoughts on “There’s No Stopping the Future 

  1. adolphorios says:

    Find and pursue your passion. You might not know what it is right now but you are on a good path to begin with. Since 1988 I thought I knew what my passion was working in the semiconductor business. It wasn’t until I was laid off in 2007 and bought my coffee shop in 2010 that I found out what that passion is. I always knew I enjoyed cooking but I learned the importance what food is really about and what it means to those that don’t have it. In owning a coffee shop that was Fair Trade, Organic, and Shade Grown my conscientiousness of social, nutrition, and environmental issues grew. Even at my age I am now a Sustainable Food Systems Student at MCC.

    Don’t forget to always have fun. We had the most fun and memorable Open Mic nights at Bunna Coffee. Good luck and, I don’t who said it but it goes, “the harder I work, the luckier I get”.

Leave a Reply

