Bookstore beware

It’s the middle of October and while pacing back and forth in your room, pouring over lecture notes and getting ready for midterms, you stub your toe on something under your bed. After sitting and assessing the damage, you bend over to see what the offender was. Oh look, it’s that writing textbook you haven’t cracked open since the first day of class. You wince at the memory of how expensive it was and groan at the thought of traveling to all of the different campuses to find the right book, all while cursing your professor because you didn’t even need it. Most students have been there at one point or another, so I’m here to set the record straight.

I worked at a college bookstore during my senior year of high school and my freshman year at Arizona State University, so I like to think I know a thing or two about what people do wrong when getting their textbooks every semester. These are the 11 things I wish I could have told you before you stubbed a toe on that book.

(Why 11? If you saw “Stranger Things” this summer, you’ll understand.)

Published: 8/23/16

Leave a Reply

