2017: The Year of Taking Care of Me

I recently watched a video by the AstroTwins, Refinery29’s resident astrologists and owners of their own website: AstroStyle. They are famous for their spot-on predictions and I have to say that so far, their predictions for a Scorpio 2017 seem pretty spot on for me.

I’m calling 2017 “The Year of Taking Care of Me,” not only because it’s what the AstroTwins are predicting, but because that was actually my New Year’s resolution!

I moved out of my parent’s house in 2015. That’s when I started gaining weight and becoming really unhealthy. At least I had somewhat homemade meals from the dining hall and didn’t need to worry about cooking. I’m an extremely lazy person when it comes to that kind of thing .

In 2016, I moved into my first apartment and suddenly I was the only one responsible for making sure I ate right and actually made my own food. The weight gain only continued despite my unlimited access to both the Sun Devil Fitness Center and the onsite gym at my apartment complex. It all boils down to laziness.

That’s why in 2017 I’m focusing on creating the best version of myself. Every other aspect of my life is near perfect. I have a small but close-knit set of friends, I have a job that I actually like, I landed an internship with a really cool local website, I’m living on my own with my best friend, I’m on track to graduate from ASU a year early, my relationship with my parents is strong and good and I have an amazing boyfriend who I’ve been with for over seven months.

2016 was a tumultuous year. There was an immense amount of stress that played a part in all the good things that came out of the year. According to the AstroTwins, my year will start of slow, kind of sleepy in their words. It’ll be a really nice break from all the stress from 2016. Toward the end of the year I should expect a total life reboot when Jupiter falls into Scorpio until November 10 (MY BIRTHDAY), 2018.

“…you’ll fearlessly dive into new adventures and ambitious quests. This may involve traveling, relocating, or renovating your career plan. By the time the year is through, you might not even recognize your own life!” – AstroTwins

So this year, I’m going to wise-up, plan out meals, budget my food money better than I have in the past and watch less Netflix. I don’t want to assign blame to any one thing, but Netflix is a big player in my laziness. If I could watch Netflix while at the gym, that would be the most ideal situation, but it’s not. So I’m going to work on detoxing my body of both extra fat in my diet as well as the amount of time I spend looking at screens. It’s probably going to be very difficult but it’s in my best interest to do so.

I also want to experiment with tuning in more closely with my star sign and exploring spiritualities. I know I’m super super Caucasian but I have American Indian ancestors. I’ve always been fascinated with their belief system. I also have deep Norwegian roots so I’d love to learn more about what their beliefs are. I’m all about exploring spiritualities this year!

Maybe my explorations will help me have a more sound mind, leading to a healthy body. Who knows? Only time will tell and it is only January 1st.

I’m very excited to detox negativity and laziness in my life in order to make 2017 the best and healthiest year ever!

Leave a Reply

