January 2017 | New Year, New Things

Wow. It’s already the end of January. I can’t believe how fast 2017 is moving already. February is so close!

A project I want to work on this year is a monthly wrap-up of everything new I’ve done, things I’ve done, things I didn’t do, the highs and lows of the month and some inspirational quotes to set me up for next month.

Highs

My boyfriend and I celebrated our eight-month anniversary on Jan. 27th. I can’t believe we’ve been together only eight months. I don’t mean that in a bad way either. I’ve been comfortable around him since I met him and I feel like I’ve known him for so much longer.

  • Also finalized this month that Zach and I are going to HAWAII!

My best friend was gone for a month and when I saw her again I was very happy to see her.

Protests like the Woman’s March and social advocacy on social media has me pumped to go out and fight for basic social rights.

I started an internship with Downtown Phoenix Journal and I love it so much. I’m hoping they’ll keep me around for the long-haul. I really love what they’re doing over here and what they are trying to accomplish to get downtown Phoenix on the map.

So far, this semester isn’t kicking my ass as hard as the last one!

I feel like I’m getting better at graphic design thanks to Professor MFC!

8123 Fest was SO MUCH fun. It was amazing getting to see This Century one last time since they broke up a year and a half ago. It’s still crazy to me that a bunch of people flew from other countries – like NEW ZEALAND – to be there for band that started in the same place I’ve lived my whole life. INSANE. The Maine also announced their new album. Here’s them performing their first single – Bad Behavior – for the first time.

Lows

The washing machine in my apartment broke right after new year, soaked part of the carpet and caused maintenance to spend a few days in my apartment.

Executive orders and legislative actions have dealt serious blows to women’s reproductive rights.

Barack Obama left office.

Donald Trump officially became the president.

Stats

I went to Starbucks 16 days in January

I only had Twirl four times in January!

New Things

I ate at two new restaurants this month and they were delicious!

  • Crescent Ballroom – I highly recommend the bean and cheese burrito. It’s simple, it’s delicious, it’s $5 and it comes with a Mr. Bean sticker on it. Also, if you’re there for happy hour, the $1 chips and salsa are a must. They’re delicious and ONLY $1!
  • Pomo Pizzeria Napoletana – I had the Diavola pizza. It came with tomato sauce, basil, mozzarella and spicy salame – delicious!

0637b187-13d9-4cee-b12d-27b4746b03fe

I started bullet journaling and I swear to you, it is changing my life. I got a brand new set of gel pens in various colors and a special notebook that has dots instead of traditional lines or grid paper. I think that because of all the different colors, it’s very meditative. It’s calming. I would compare it to the adult coloring books they’re making now.

Motivation for Next Month

Don’t stop when you are tired. Stop when you are done. – Unknown

 

Life begins at the end of your comfort zone. – Neale Donald Walsh

Leave a Reply

