The Garden Island | Day One

Well I’m in Kauai, HI.

That sounds ridiculous because I never thought I would ever have a chance to see one of the most beautiful places on earth, and I never dreamed I would be with a significant other and his family having the time of my life. But it’s real. I’m here. I’ve actually been here for a few days but I’ve been so busy exploring the island that I haven’t had a chance to write it all down.

Wednesday, May 31 | Day One

The day started off in Phoenix fairly early. Turns out plane tickets to Lihue, Kauai, HI are a little bit – a lot – cheaper when you fly out of LAX compared to Sky Harbor. So we had a long drive out to LA for our 5 p.m. flight. The drive to LA was about six hours long. Not too terrible. We did get to LA super early for our flight though, which was fine because we had time to eat and plenty of time to get through security and park the car at the parking garage.

We ended up waiting at our gate for about two hours which was fine by me because that just meant we were definitely not missing our flight.

The flight was fine except for a tiny detail. Zach and his family bought their tickets before mine and so all their seats were together, and mine was a few rows ahead of them. Since I had a middle seat and Zach had a window seat, I thought it would be fairly easy to have the person in the seat next to me to switch with him so we could sit together.

Unfortunately, I was very wrong.

The two women who ended up on either side of me were traveling together and didn’t want to split up. Which was embarrassing for me because I had asked them to move and they refused. Since they were traveling together, I offered to move to either the aisle or the window seat so they could sit right next to each other. But they complained that they didn’t like sitting in the middle seat. Awesome. I feel it’s important to mention that one of the women took up a seat and a half, which meant that I Β had half a seat for the entire 6 HOUR flight. I tried to breathe and just remind myself that I would be in Hawaii soon.

Remember how I mentioned the two women refused to split up because they were traveling together? I did, right? Right. So you would assume that would mean they would talk to each other during the flight, right? I think that’s a reasonable assumption. They didn’t talk at all for the entire flight. THE ENTIRE FLIGHT WAS IN COMPLETE SILENCE. I would have watched a movie, but unfortunately, the woman to my right was taking up half my seat and I couldn’t put the armrest down to plug in the headphones. So I sat there watching the flight tracker and listening to the few albums downloaded to my phone.

Whatever. I’m in Kauai now and just I will probably cry if that happens on the way back. I would have loved to be looking over Zach’s shoulder to see Hawaii for the first time in all it’s beauty rather than some stranger taking up two seats.

So we landed about 8:30 p.m. local time, meaning we gained three hours, meaning that we had all been awake for about 16 hours give or take. Then we had to wait for the rest of our party to come in on their flight which was just like an hour followed by the drive to find our rental condo.

Zach and I are low on the totem pole as far as room assignments go since we are the youngest and also unmarried. So we’ve been sleeping on an air mattress in the living room. But still, we’re in Hawaii.

Sleep came quickly and swiftly.

More days will be posted soon!

 

 

Leave a Reply

